Skip navigation

I felt so vulnerable. You sat staring at me, my gaunt body, my sunken eyes. I must have looked like a ghost to you, my previously caramel colored skin now barely recognizable as having any sort of pigmentation.

“So, where exactly did you say you were all this time?” you asked, clearly wondering if I were a figment of your imagination. I couldn’t be real. I had long been dead to you. I told you someone had hidden me far away. You shook your head in disbelief.

“You’re not real. I’m finally cracking up,” you said as you walked away, thinking that if you drank more I would disappear. But I continued my story until you were inclined to ask the question that must of been nagging you this entire time.

“Who did it?” as you spoke the words, you seemed to know the answer. There was no other possible answer.

“You”

4 Comments

  1. ooh a lot of deep dark things at play here.Is all of this in his mind?

    • Hmm…. I’m not sure. When I write flash I usually don’t know how it ends to tell you the truth….

  2. Well crafted, well written; excellent.

  3. Cool flash! You can read this a couple or three ways!


Leave a Reply

